Claim: Governments must ensure that their major cities receive the financial support they need in order to thrive.

Reason: It is primarily in cities that a nation's cultural traditions are preserved and generated.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

Precisely, major cities of any nation serves as a gateway to the entire nation. Through the major cities of a nation people tend to grasp a better understanding about the cultural heritage of the nation rather than the rustic regions. So the author's claim regarding the providence of financial support is indeed significant. For instance if we consider the major cities of the world like New York, London, Tokyo they not only influence the nation's activity rather have an international influence. The reason furnished by the author emphasis only the cultural aspects but major cities have more potential duties that they discharge including representation of nation's ascetic values.

First of all, let us scrutinize the duties discharged by a major city of any country. It acts as the frontier in depicting the business, cultural heritage, trade, lifestyle, skyscrapers and the information technology sectors of the nation. For example, consider the city of Tokyo in Japan. This city acts as a representative for the entire nation in terms of ethical heritage, cultural traditions, economy and even life style of the people of Japan. Moreover their economy is so large that they influence the economy of the entire world. Hence more financial support to such giants is justified.

Secondarily, consider the city of New York of USA. This city is widely known not only for its cultural diversity but also for its dominance over the world's employment sector. Relevantly, this is due to the large number of immigrants from other parts of the world, who work here. As a result, cultures from various parts of the world amalgamate and in such a region the traditions of New York stand out and establishes its uniqueness to the entire world. For such a dominating city, financial support is obviously necessary to bring prosper to the country. People tend to acquire these culture from New York and might even indirectly be responsible for spreading it in their native region.

Furthermore, it is not suggested to neglect the rural regions completely. Historically, it is canonical that the culture and traditions of any region originate from the rural villages and it is preached to the cities by the people who later move to major cities. For example, it is well known that in developing countries like India, people in villages seek employment opportunities in the urbane region to develop their financial status. So the point that is being emphasized is that bucolic zones of the nations must not be neglected and proper attention must be paid to develop them.

In summary, the claim that government should provide required financial support to the major cities is warranted by the reasoning provided that major cities tend to preserve the cultural values of a nation and tend to spread it across the world. They also contribute to the moderation in the traditions thereby making the nation a better place to live. But enough care must be ensured in preserving the cultural values with scruples in the rural regions as this is where most of the culture of the nation originate.