Claim: Governments must ensure that their major cities receive the financial support they need in order to thrive.Reason: It is primarily in cities that a nation's cultural traditions are preserved and generated.

Enactment of law to preserve any remaining wilderness areas in their natural state is one of the main areas of contention. As, the conservationist advocate for the preservation of wilderness, on the other side, economist are penchant towards the economic growth. Wilderness areas are the natural habitat of flora and fauna. Preservation of this area is the nation’s responsibility. I contend that the nation should pass laws to preserve the remaining wilderness area.

Encroachment of wilderness areas for development has destroyed the natural habitat of many animals, consequently, has led to the extinction of animals. Every animal entails a specific climatic condition and environment to survive, and if it is destroyed of modified it is difficult for that animal to survive, which indeed leads to imperilment of the animal.

Usually, when animals are shifted to another location, they do not survive, as not only the area but also the climate should be suitable for the animal. For instance, if a polar bear is shifted from Artic Circle to Africa or any other place for instance which does not have a cold climate like Artic Circle, it is highly unlikely that the polar bear will survive, regardless that bear is well fed and taken care of. In the last hundred years, we have seen a plummet in the diversity of flora and fauna, all due to development. For instance, West Bengal, a city in India, was famous for the legion of white "Bengal tigers", but in the recent years, there has been a drastic downfall in their numbers.

Destruction of wilderness not only leads to plummeting of the diversity of animals but also has been the major cause for the change in climate. Indeed, global warming is the best example, due to the extensive cut down of trees for economic development, the temperature of the surrounding has risen. Many of the flora have dwelled down as the climate is not suitable for their growth. Many of the rare plants, which were previously present in the surrounding are now only found in the botanical gardens. Global warming is the major reason which has led to their extinction.

Many things should be considered before preserving an area like, at what cost are we preserving an area. How greatly can the development of the area affect the economic growth, consequently, what are the repercussions of developing or preserving the area? Consequently, if nations passed laws to preserve any remaining wilderness areas in their natural state, the remaining flora and fauna will be preserved, but it might thwart the economic grown of the nations.

Protection and preservation of wilderness areas is an important issue as the damage cause is somewhat irreversible. Enactment of laws will only lead to a better natural environment, not only for flora and fauna but also for humans and their posterity.