Claim: Many problems of modern society cannot be solved by laws and the legal system.

Reason: Laws cannot change what is in people's hearts or minds.

Law means a body of rules and regulations in the form of judicial opinions or in the form of constitutions. Law is created to protect people from many evil things happening around them. So, effective laws are required to maintain stability and peace in the society.

The legal system is meant to control the bad behavior of the person which can harm the society. By creating strict laws, one can restrict these types of act which are very cruel. The strict laws should be formed by considering all the effects of crime on the society, for example for a minor crime the law can be liberal whereas for major crime the law should be strict enough such that the crime committer would never commit the crime again. Strict laws can create fear in the minds of people and cruel acts like terrorism can be avoided from the society.

However, Laws can put a limit on people's behavior but they cannot alter people's hear. There is no second thought that strict laws can sometimes put negative effects on the society.

Laws should be created keeping in mind the human's nature. The people should feel safe in the society by imposing strict laws against the wrong doers. But the laws should not harm the people's belief or freedom which results into disrespecting the laws. Hence, if people start disrespecting the laws than the real purpose of laws will be vanished. Instead, people will start abhorring the laws and even they will start protesting against it. For example, in India there is a system of reservation for those people who belong to a backward caste or those who are financially weak. This system of reservation is being opposed by many people since the law is being imposed. And due to imposing this law, many massive protest against the government is being witnessed.

However, in history we have many examples were laws had negative effects on the society. China has the world’s largest population. In order to control the population, Chinese government passed a law "one child policy" in 1970, stating a couple might have only one child. Chinese government thought this will slow down the rate of population. But, this law has also effected the country. Currently, the number of youths in China has decreased and the major population of China is the older age people. So the percentage of older peoples in China in comparison to younger generation is more.

Moreover, as the society is evolving day by day, various types of crime are committed. Previously when there were no computers and internet, no case of cyber-crime was witnessed. But in today's scenario a lots of cases of cyber-crime are burgeoning. So the laws always need to be changed or revised as the time goes on.

Laws should be created according to human nature. Laws are meant for the people so it is very important that the people respects the law. So, the authorities making the law always should keep the law keeping in mind the nature of human. The authorities should also create new laws in order to maintain stability in the society. In some cases the authorities should also modify the existing laws as the society evolves.

Hence, the authorities should create flexible laws in order to control the human nature or society. However, this laws can only control the human nature but it cannot alter their behavior.