Claim: We can usually learn much more from people whose views we share than from those whose views contradict our own.

Reason: Disagreement can cause stress and inhibit learning.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

Do we learn more from people who share same ideas than the ones who contradict our ideas? The author claims so with the reason that disagreement causes stress and inhibits learning. A closer examination in the claim however reveals that the claim is not always true and depends on circumstances.

Let us take an example of building of a simple robot. A team with members from varied field is required to execute the project. Let us say during the planning phase only they disagree with each other about the basic design. This will break the spirit of the members as a team and unnecessarily waste time. So, disagreement here has negative impact and has installed learning.

However, except the few exceptions like above, disagreement fundamentally helps in the learning process. If people are with same belief and idea they will be restricted in the same narrow circumference of the knowledge. It is because of that somebody in the team has a different opinion about something and hence further possibilities are examined and explored. As for an example had there been no disagreement, possibly the fact that earth moves round the sun would not have been discovered. Because of the disagreement on the previous fact that sun moves round the sun, scientists explored more on it and tried to prove it, which has of course started a new era in astronomy.

As we explore further, we can see that disagreement itself becomes a key factor for agreement and learning. As for an example by seeing the quarrels in the society and its consequences, children possibly learn about the harmful effects of quarrel and try to avoid them.

In sum, disagreement always leads to discovery of new ideas and promotes learning except some few exceptions. Hence it can be concluded that disagreement plays a positive role in learning process.