Claim:Governments must ensure that their major cities receive the financial support they need in order to thrive.Reason:It is primarily in cities that a nation’s cultural traditions are preserved and generated.

There are certain considerations one can take into account when considering and investigating the distribution of government financial support. The statement claims that big cities should receive sufficient support, for the reason that it is the main source of a country's culture. However, I assert that while financial support to metropolitans are of vital importance for their development, rural areas are also un-ignorable, for countrysides also contribute to the traditions of a nation, even greater than cities.

The statement maintains that cities are of central importance for a nation's cultural innovation and preservation, thus opulent financial support must be provided for their development. This is quite true to some developed countries in the world. For instance, if one goes to New York, everything he or she encountered there, including the music, food, people's lifestyle, are of typically American. These factors are all dispensable components of American culture we know. Thus, it is reasonable to support the thriving of big cities in the US for the country's cultural development as a whole.

From this perspective, this claim seems quite appealing. However, for some countries, this situation can be different. The claim assumes that cities are primarily where a nation's cultural traditions are preserved and generated, which is not true for all countries. For example, in China, while cities are developing more and more quickly, countrysides are still places where traditional culture flourishes. Many traditional skills such as paper-cutting, are mastered by elderly people who has been living in the rural areas for decades. If these areas are neglected by the government, the chances are these perish traditions will go extinct one day. Obviously, financing big cities are not enough for traditional cultural preservation in China.

Furthermore, quite contrary to the statement, thriving of cities can have bad effects in traditional cultures. With the rapid trend of globalization and the more and more accelerated advancement of technology, modern lifestyles are becoming prevalent, and cities around world are much alike due to communication. Beijing, London and New York share the similar building style, young people in these cities all like pop music. In Beijing, one can easily find western restaurant, and in London, the vice versa. While we are excited by the comfort and convenient brought about by internalization, our traditional culture are endangered at the same time. People in large cities are forgetting traditions, needless to say preserve them. It is obvious that the development of cities are always counteracting with tradition preservation. From this perspective, the government should not invest money to the cities in order to preserve the nation's traditions.

Due to the aforementioned ground, although it is undeniable that cities can be a nation's cultural center, other parts of the country are also home to rich cultures, especially traditional ones. I firmly believe supporting major cities financially is not enough for tradition preservation. Every part of the nation where traditions rooted should be protected.