Colleges and universities should require all faculty to spend time working outside the academic world in professions relevant to the courses they teach.

The author of this statement recommends that all faculties must spend time working outside of the academic environment. As far as I am concerned, this is a controversial issue and we can not give the same answer for all courses. I take this position account the following reasons.

First, most professors usually have high theoretical knowledge, which they gained in the university. Nevertheless, working out of academic environment allows them to enrich their knowledge. I think that a small instance can give some light on this topic. When a biology teacher works out of the university, he can gain first information about humans’ effects on nature. In addition, he can use all sense to comprehend of what they teach in the university and even better answer for how to control nature disasters. So, the biggest advantages of the working out for teachers lie in the fact that enriches their knowledge.

A further point we must consider is that usually teachers use boring methods of teaching, which have not more linked with the real world. This policy lets teachers touch nature and adopt their knowledge with the real world. Moreover, they could link theories with real examples and makes their teaching more attractive.

Apart from points I made above, the real world can inspire teachers to discover new things, creating functional equipment, or even painting an awesome paint. As it is known, imagination plays a crucial role in the most field of study, especially art courses. A painter can paint new landscapes out of the university, or writer can gain a new idea for his writing.

In contrast, this policy may be usefulness in some courses such as mathematics. The university has many special facilities that a teacher can not have access them out of university. I think that there is not a better example of a teacher of theoretical physics. This teacher has to use of mathematics equation and computer applications for confirming his theory. In addition, the specialized laboratory allows him to do accurately experiments and gain a better result.

All above evidence supports this fact that working out of academic environment can assists teachers to enrich their knowledge, gain deeper understanding, and improve their method of teaching. Admittedly, as an English proverb “a coin has two sides”; therefore, those have the opposite view partially reasonable that in some field of study, teachers needs to work in the in the specialized laboratories, which only are in the university.