Colleges and universities should require their students to spend at least one semester studying in a foreign country.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

There has been debates on whether it should be mandatory for university students to participate international exchange programs. Some people claim that studying in a foreign country is a rewarding experience that every student should give it a try during his or her university life. Although I concede that joining internaltional exchange programs do lead to many advantages, I do not think the advantages overweigh the drawbacks if schools make it become compulsory.

People who are in favor of the policy proposed by the prompt statement may argue that participating internation exchange programs helps students grow up fast and broaden their horizons. By traveling alone, exploring new environment, experiencing new culture and interacting with different people, students get to know how big the world is and how different one's life can be. While learning in a foreign countrys seems tempting, we should not ignore that it also has many disavantages.

Primarily, it takes time and effort to settle down in a new places and adjust to new environments. Students who exchange to a different country need to deal with the visa, bank account, health care insurance, mobile phone data plans and probably also driving license. These trivial things will waste them a lot of time. They would also need to pay for the flight tickets, accommandation, and tuition fees which may become a heavy financial burden for some of them. Moreover, learning a foreign language is also a daunting task. Students need to devote so much time in learning and practicing the language that they might have no time to study for courses.

In addition, there are other opportunities such as international internship or summer research programs which allow students to gain foreign learning experience. Take myself as an example. I originally planed to participate in a exchange program this academic year. Yet, later I got the offer of Cisco international internship program which allows my to come to Silicon Valley to work as a software engineer intern for one year. In this internship program, I not only gain the work experience in industry but also get to expand my social network and make friends with 60 other students com from around the world. Should my university require me to participate in exchange programs, I would not have had such a wonderful learning experience.

In conclusion, while I admit that it has some advantages for students to participate in international exchange pregrams, I do not think schools should make it mandatory. Not only because it has many drwbacks that make exchange experience not as favorable as it seems, but the compulsory policy would constrain students' freedom of choosing other equally rewarding opportunities.