Competition for high grades seriously limits the quality of learning at all levels of education.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The education system is not without its flaws. You can almost find an incompetent teacher at every school, you can witness the inconsistencies in the teaching structures even within the same schools, and you can sense that many teachers themselves strive for the pay without actually teaching their students. Further down in the issue is the fact that teachers may be said to get underpaid. While the education system is far from perfect, the competition for high grades isn’t a severe problem, and it doesn’t seriously limit the quality of learning at all levels of eduction.

How about a system where there certainly was a grading system but no competition? If there is a grading system, it is there to assess how well the students learn the material throughout the year and whether students are able to pass. Not every students reaches for As or Bs or other equivalent grade marks. Many students are perfectly satisfied with just passing the class, and for these students, there is a lack of competition that they feel they must take part in. Even amongst those who strive to attain high grades feel no sense of competition with others. Perhaps they are able to learn the material and their primary focus is the information being retained. These students may disagree that they are in a competition for grades. However, the entire system is a rank or hierarchy of sorts, and even these students are unknowingly taking part in a competition that ranks them on their ability to pass with this subject/s. Students striving for success and high grades make a sizeable portion of the entire student population at any school, so the question of how competition may be harming them is a good one.

The most significant factor that the grading system brings forth in students is motivation and striving for success. As simple as it seems, competition for high grades between students is surely what motivates many students to even try to do well in school. Take the kid who isn’t an overachiever, but isn’t someone who neglects his duties either. If there was no grading system, he may go through school without really studying or trying to learn the material. Because he needs to get a certain grade to pass, he needs to study and learn. He may not want to, but he will do it out of opting to pass his classes. In the end, he studied the material and was able to retain the information, no matter whether that motivation was ignited by a passion for learning or by his duty of having to pass the class. It would be impossible to determine exactly how much the competition for high grades motivates students, but we can also easily imagine how different the education system would be if that competition weren’t there.

On the other hand, competition for high grades may also have some consequences of which seem feasible enough to consider and ponder over. Although many students may strive to learn to earn their high grades, perhaps many are not. Take another student, someone who knows that she has to pass the next two tests or else she will fail the class. She may not want to study and so she finds a way to cheat on her two exams without the instructor finding out. One can likely think about the many students who are like this, and we’ve probably all had interactions with students like these in our past. The simple prospect of attaining a high grade may be all that matters for some. This would especially be a problem in lower education like middle school or high school, where many may do anything that’s possible to pass the class without actually learning the material or getting anything out of the class. Competition for high grades wouldn’t achieve anything in this case, and may in fact just motivate many to strive for that high grade over actually learning. The emphasis on grades would, in this way, weaken the education system. However, students like this may exist regardless of the grading system being in place or not, so without the grading system there would be no significant undermining of the system in place.

There are different ways to look at the education system and the grading process and think about how it’s doing good or bad. However, even with its flaws, the education system’s focus on grading marks allows for a lot of competition for students to strive to actually be as good as one can be in acquiring knowledge.