"The concept of 'individual responsibility' is a necessary fiction. Although societies must hold individuals accountable for their own actions, people's behavior is largely determined by forces not of their own making."

The speaker claims that people’s treatment is largely out of their own decision and action and is more related to other forces. While the speaker overstates the effects of other fictional forces on people’s final behavior, on balance I agree that what they do eventually would not be merely the result of their own trial and intention.

Undoubtedly, everyone is to some extent responsible for his decisions and actions. In other words, it would not be reasonable to refuse the responsibility of everything that happens to us and attribute them to other people’s intentions and behaviors, or to our fate and unexplainable forces in our world which all are beyond our power to control. All people wish to act and behave as their interests and desires call for and therefore strive to achieve their goals and inner demands. Therefore, everyone should accept the consequences of his decisions and resulted course of action.

Furthermore, sometimes it is not only our decisions and intentions which might lead to our unsatisfactory or failure, but also our unawareness of difficulties or lack of perseverance. Therefore, it would be ridiculous to ascribe all the bad events in our lives to other people and forces, while we have made the decision to do so and we should have been aware of the probable problems and should have been ready to make a lot of efforts.

However, I concede that there are some events and forces all around the world which are not under our control or based on our desires. One important example of these forces our natural occurrence and sometimes disasters which are admittedly beyond our decisions. For instance, detrimental phenomena such as earthquake or tsunami which besides having harmful impacts on individuals’ life and career would influence all the society devastatingly.

Another example of these effective forces in our life, our other more powerful people’s thinking and actions especially people who are in authority. To name, consider an arbitrary government which have thorough control on every single behavior and even idea of the populace. In such gloomy and repressing environment, although people might do their best and have instructive believes in mind would not be able to act and behave as they wish and consequently it not be fair to blame them for the whole of their failures and mistakes.

In sum, everyone should accept the responsibility of the decisions he has adopted and the actions he has conducted. Nonetheless, the other uncontrollable happenings and forces which force people or gradually and without their intention move them towards some behaviors can not be disregarded.