"Critical judgment of work in any given field has little value unless it comes from someone who is an expert in that field."

The statement contends that the critical judgement of any work in any field is perfect if it is done by the person who is expert in that field but it is imperfect or of less value if it is done by any random person. I agree with this statement to some extent.

As per the statement the judgement of any work should be done by expert of that field only . This statement is basically true as for judging any kind of work the deep knowledge about the work is crucial. For example if any experiment is carried out in the laboratory and for judging the outcome of it, it is necessary to have the deep knowledge about that experiment because any wrong judgement can lead to great disasters. In the above case if the judgement is carried out by any person having superficial knowledge about that experiment than it can lead to wrong judgement which can be sometimes dangerous.

Another example can be that if any exam papers are checked by any person having less knowledge of that subject that it can lead to imperfect grading of the papers. On the other side, if in case it is required to judge very normal basic thing than it can be also be done by the person having little knowledge in that field because if any expert is called upon for judging such small things than it would be economically costly or sometimes the experts would also not be willing to come. For example if it is required to do any normal inspection of the object where greater perfection is not required in any field than the person with superficial knowledge can also give the better judgement and it would also be economical in that case.

In conclusion the type of the person to be called for judgement like expert or person with superficial knowledge in that field depends upon the amount of perfection required in judgement for that particular thing.