Critical judgment of work in any given field has little value unless it comes from someone who is an expert in that field.

Some people believe that critical judgment of work in any given field has to be come from an expert in that field in order to be fully valued. Since an expert has a plethora of experience and knowledge in his/her professional field, the argument seems cogent. However, I disagree with the argument since beginners can also make crucial judgment on work.

Admittedly, in many cases, relying on an expert’s judgment is pivotal, especially in the realm of science. To illustrate, during the Second World War, Germany began creating nuclear weapons. Being aware of the danger of these weapons, Albert Einstein made a critical judgment to meet with president Roosevelt. At the meeting, Einstein fully explained the danger of atomic bomb and as a result, president Roosevelt initiated the research on nuclear weapons to aggravate the threat of Germany. If Einstein were not an expert on the science, it would be arduous to convince President Roosevelt to initiate research on atomic bombs in the United States. Therefore, a critical insight of an expert is valuable.

However, in the field of politics, a judgment of a beginner is also crucial. When Jim Crow law was prevalent in the United States, many African-American people were suffered from unjust treatment. Despite the request of bus driver, Rosa Park refused to give up her seat in the colored section to a white passenger, and this event initiated the Montgomery Bus Boycott. Although Park was not an expert when she started participating in the civil rights movement, her passion and courage inspired many African-American people in the United States. Consequently, she became an international icon of resistance of racial segregation and contributed to the end of racial discrimination. Therefore, the critical judgment of a beginner is also crucial in politics.

In addition, a beginner’s critical insight is also essential in the field of business. Steve Jobs, a CEO of Apple Corp., was not an expert when he started his company. Although he lacked experience and knowledge in business, his incessant efforts and passion allow him to place emphasis on outer design along with technological features. Due to his critical judgment in investing creative design, he was able to come up with electronic devices that satisfied the public’s taste and Apple has been able to become an international corporation, which is loved by people all around the world.

In conclusion, I believe that critical judgment of both experts and beginners is crucial in various fields. Therefore, rather than relying on experts or beginners, people should broaden their perspectives and place weight on both of experts and beginners.