Educational institutions have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.

Many educational institutions today allow students the freedom to choose their area of study. In fact, students have full autonomy in taking classes in the subject matters where they want to focus their time and energy on. Although some may argue that these choices result in wasted time and energy when the student eventually fails at a higher level, it is not wise for the institution to take the initiative to dissuade individuals from taking certain classes.

At first, it may seem that educational institutions do have a duty to discourage students from pursuing areas in which they are unlikely to succeed. Proponents of this ideology would argue that an institution, in acting in accordance with each student’s best interest, should convince them only to proceed in certain disciplines in order to save time and money. Since many students struggle with financial difficulty while attending one of these prestigious universities, causing them to take out loans, work a part time job, or ask friends and family members for assistance, ensuring that the student is only pursuing a field in which they are capable is of the utmost importance. In addition, if they are able to finish their studies early due to not wasting time attempting a major that is not their strength, they can immediately start working a full time job and making income to support themselves or to pay back student loans.

However, this point of view assumes that the educational institution has perfect foresight into where a student can or can not succeed. This evaluation is quite subjective, and can easily differ depending on which instructor, dean, or principal is determining the student’s qualifications. In addition, the examination of a student’s abilities may not take into account his or her past, as well as future potential. Students can come from a plethora of backgrounds, with a wide variety in family history, availability of resources, and previous educational experiences. Even adjusting for factors that may hinder a student’s initial assessment of talent, there is a notion that some children may simply be more precocious, while others develop their abilities later on in life. Therefore, an institution simply cannot determine the success of a student in any particular field, or hope to predict their acme in that subject.

Even if we were to entertain the notion of the prescience of these institutions, we are still neglecting that fact that some students may simply want to be well rounded and explore other subject areas. In fact, exposure to a broad range of knowledge may buttress a student’s overall success in the future. A statistics major may not be strong in English and therefore may not succeed at the higher levels, but a few writing classes may bolster his abilities to communicate his findings later on as a statistician. Similarly, a prodigious pianist may not find his greatest strength in mathematics, but an understanding of the underlying harmonic tones through musical wavelengths may nicely complement his understanding of music theory.

Due to the high degree of subjectivity of determining the aptitude of students in a certain field of study, particularly without a thorough understanding of their history, institutions should not dissuade any student from pursuing any major. While exploring different areas, well rounded individuals are developed, who can in fact be even more successful than their narrowly focused counterparts. In fact, as different disciplines are becoming more intertwined, a vast breadth of knowledge may be essential to success in any line of work.