Educational institutions have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

According to the author “Educational institutions should discourage students from pursuing concentrations if evidence suggests that a student is unlikely to succeed.” While some elements of the above statement seem plausible, the statement fails to recognize that past performances is not an accurate indicator of success as certain variables may limit or further educational success. Despite evidence of poor performance, motivating a student will ensure a learner’s chance at success.

First, as learners, we do not pursue things because we know that the likelihood of success is certain, we do so because we want to expand our scope and knowledge about a particular field. Should an institution seek to dissuade a student for reasons unknown, the commitment that an establishment has for its students is compromised. Let’s imagine, Student A historically has underperformed throughout their high school career and has been evidenced to show poor performance. Data may show a below average GPA for the student; however, data doesn’t take into consideration the student’s problematic home life and how it has deeply prohibited the learner’s learning abilities. With little to no additional information pertaining to a student’s external circumstance, Institutions can not accurately assess the likelihood of a success and should therefore commit to supporting all its students despite past performance.

Furthermore, Institutions should motivate its students to fearlessly pursue any field of study; it is only when the studying begins does the pursuant discern to continue with gumption or to explore other field. Let’s think about a well known methodology used often in the Technology Startup Space, the Lean Principle. The Lean principle encourages the process of testing an idea, product, or theory with a sampling of your target audience. Once the testing is complete, you extrapolate key pieces of information that informs you whether you are progressing nicely. This approach is analogous to allowing students to explore the field of choice and then make a decision based on direct evidence on whether the studies are too challenging or just right for them.

In contrast, we can argue, “ Knowingly allowing a student with limited programme insight to pursue increasingly challenging coursework would be a disservice to the learner”. While, the argument recognizes that student success is critical, a bigger disservice is in not encouraging students to fully tap into their unrealized potential. When a student lacks pertinent information or insight at any given point, an opportunity is created for the academy to quickly provide access to pertinent information so the pupil can make an informed decision.

So, institutions have the responsibility of encouraging all students to explore their area of interest despite some record of past performances; moreover, students must be encouraged to pursue their field of choice and be given the space to realize if success is in the works; and only then should an institution be allowed to provide alternative areas of studies to its scholars.