Educational institutions have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

I completely agree that Educational institutions have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed. It is responsibility of Educational institutes to guide students to success and to reach their potential in future. Learned and experienced professors can indicate students if they are likely to succeed and reach their potential or not.

By dissuading the students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed, they are helping the student to focus on different fields of study in which the student might rather excel and reach their potential. By dissuading they are saving the costs to educate a student who is unlikely to succeed in a particular field. Dissuading a student form pursuing a particular field of study does not mean that the student is going to fail in that field of study in the future but it means that the student is not likely to reach his or her full potential. Rather he might excel or reach a higher goal in some other field of study.

Some people may argue that by dissuading the students they are limiting the potential of students. The educational institutes are not limiting their potential, rather encouraging the student to pursue and concentrate on another fields of study in which they can truly reach their potential. People may also use Bill Gates as an example illustrating how a college dropout went to become a billionaire. I would like to say there are always exceptions to every claim and this is a general claim which addresses the masses.

Educational institutes do not guarantee that a student is going to fail rather enabling a precautionary measure which will help to success in future. In conclusion, I strongly agree with the claim that Educational institutions have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.