Educational institutions have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.

Now a days universities and educational institutions are permitted with variety of programmes, courses and degrees. When a student admit into a course keeping in mind to pursue a degree in that particular area it is the responsibility and aim of the student to work hard and get the success. A large number of activities including authenticated syllabus are there and subject experts give their lectures in their respective expertise. Despite of this much of effort by the university if the student fails to perform well then its definitely a matter to rethink. But obviously its not a such big deal that we should divert our path.

In contrast to the view of the author it is very often that by going through the various extra curricular activities the person may find a field which is quite interesting. But those fields may be treated as a passion of personal interest. We should not compare them with our subject matter of study. Its definitely a matter of appreciation that there are activities from educational institutions as per the interest of its students. But demotaivating them from their field of expertise and advising them to give more attention in other fields its obviously should not be adopted.

Lets say one boy is admitted into a programme of engineering in a big institution with a course running on various subjects related to field of arts, sociology, science, biology, music etc. During the leisure duration if he attends a history class finding it more interesting than his technical paper and suddenly perform well in a surprise test taken in that class then its not a matter of finding the appropriate programme.

The legacy of the field of expertise can be resolved with more and valid practice. Failure in the test is not a big concern rather understating the subject to perform real time observation is required. In spite of advising to switch to a different platform the responsibility of the institution should be to make its system of study, teaching and administration more effective so that students of every standard may be taken care of.