Educational institutions have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.

In this century where students are taught to ‘dream big’ and are encouraged to set aims and goals, it is often we find students with ambitious or unrealistic expectations. The role of educational institutions should be to provide students with the basic knowledge to pursue their goals, as well as guide them in the right direction based on their interests, regardless of their achievements.

Students often work harder and pay more attention in fields of study where they hold a particular interest, in which they find educationally challenging or stimulating. If one is forced to study something they do not find stimulating, the motivation and thrive to study would diminish, which could eventually lead to a less likely chance of success. For example, if a student wants to be a Biologist but performs poorly in Biology exams, but instead exhibits a talent in Art, teachers shouldn’t persuade the student to change his/her mind to pursue Art, which she shows no interest. In doing so, she would not be motivated to learn Art and develop her skills. Isn’t the role of educational institutions to educate and prepare us for the career of our choice? They should be paying more attention so that the student develops her skills and improves in her next Biology exam, instead of discouraging him/her.

One could argue that if teachers give students false hope by supporting their dream, they are setting them up for failure. On the contrary, I believe receiving support and encouragement from teachers provide us with the ‘push’ and the motivation to perform even better, knowing we have their full support. Such drive could provide students with the eagerness to succeed. There is truth in the saying ‘Any expert was once a beginner’, a student could be a beginner now, but teachers have the ability to support and aid them to become an expert later in the future.

Thinking about it, aren’t the most successful people the ones who were least expected to be? Einstein was labelled as a crazy scientist and discouraged by his peers, until his theories were proven correct and deemed a genius. Winston Churchill, who dropped out of school was a daft student and teachers thought he was incorrigible, turned out to be one of the greatest leaders of all time. I believe anyone can succeed if they have the correct drive and persistence to do so.