Educational institutions have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Education is considered to be one of the most potent tool that underpins the lives of the majority of homo sapiens in this world. With tremendous amount of research going into various fields of study and a plethora of options glimmering in front of student’s eyes, a student is bound to be at the most important crossroad of his life. Thus before making any life changing decision it is very much essential to seek out an expert’s advice or view things from a more experienced person’s perspective. However this in no way implies that an educational institution holds the responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.

Consider a hypothetical but a very realistic situation: Suppose a student who is highly proficient in high school mathematics but is not so adept in English literature aspires to become a writer because he is passionate about the subject. For all his zeal and keenness, it would be a devastating setback for him/her if the faculty at the institution try to deter his ambitions of becoming a writer. After all it would belie the old adage “An expert in anything was always once a beginner”.

Notwithstanding that educational institutions do have a role in carving out a student’s future, but a role that is certainly sanguine rather than dissuading the students. A role that encourages the student to meet his dreams, a role that though highlights the flaws involved regarding the student persuading that academic field of study but at the same time an institution needs to put in efforts in helping a student overcome its shortcoming.

Additionally, the term success is very subjective. One may measure success in terms of remuneration, for other it would be completing a post-graduation degree. There’s no one fixed definition of success. Success is never final and failure is not fatal. Nobody knows what would happen next, thus it would not justify for an educational institution to predict whether the student is likely to succeed in a particular field or not.