Educational institutions have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Educational institutions have the responsibility of providing support to students in their endeavors to be successful in all pursuits.The responsibility of the university is not to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study that they are unlikely to be successful in, it is, in stark contract, their responsibility to provide the tools in order to increase the likeliness of a student to be more successful.

First and foremost, the educational institute has no valid measure to predict whether or not a student will be successful in a particular subject matter. It is a highly subjective prediction that would be unethical and uncouth for an educational institute to preport to be in possession of. Who would determine whether or not the student will be successful in the future? The student’s advisor? The student’s professors? What measures would be used to determine the student’s success? The student’s grades? The student’s progress over time? The student’s determination? No person, group of persons, measure, or group of measures can predict the future success of a student in general or in a particular area of interest. It would be unfair of the educational institute to make such judgements on any person, let alone a student whom they are supposed to be enabling to succeed.

In addition to not being able to objectively and ethically determine the students which are least likely to be successful in certain fields of study, the university has the responsibility, in direct opposition to dissuasion, to educate and support students in whatever possible manner. It is their responsibility to help students gain the necessary tools to be successful in any endeavor they so choose to embark upon, regardless of the subjective opinion of the institution or persons employed by the institution. If I decided to pursue a career as a teacher and I reached out to my advisor, professor, or other venerated institution figure, I would be expecting that those idols help me acquire the proper tools to achieve the necessary skills and in order to be successful in that goal or any other I approached them about. I would be appalled if such a venerated institution figurehead were to discourage me in any way and for any reason, instead of offering guidance.

Although I can understand that it an important part of an educational institution’s responsibility to provide students with realistic expectations and goals, I can not understand how it would not be equally or entirely more paramount for that discussion to be centered around access to tools and resources that will allow the student to increase their chances of future success, rather than mere dissuasion. Dissuasion can damage the relationship between the student and the educational institution, which could, in turn, damage the student’s motivation to learn or become a successful, contributing part of society in the future. Discouraging a student at all should be proscribed from the educational setting, replaced with encouragement in general, and in specific areas that may be currently hindering the students success.

It is not only NOT the educational institution’s responsibility to dissuade students, it is the opposite. Their responsibility should be to encourage growth, courage, and excellence in all endeavors their students pursue, both, seemingly likely and unlikely. The educational institution has the responsibility to provide realistic goals and expectations, while also providing the necessary tools and resources the students needs in order to be successful.