Educational institutions have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.

Educational institutes are the place where an individual learns so many things. It is the first step in a person's life, which makes one's foundation for life. The topic is a controversial one, stating schools and colleges have a responsibility to deter students from pursuing fields of study in which they might or might not succeed. According to me the decision of opting a field of study depends upon the students, whereas the institutions can play a supporting role by mere giving suggestion to them rather taking the sole responsibility.I am in a disagreement with the author's assertion.

Firstly, a person when grows further old, develops an understanding of its own. The action to discourage a student only on the basis that he/she seems unlikely to succeed is unfair, this illustrates the immaturity of the institutions. Educational institutes are responsible for proper growth of student but, deciding and predicting the future of a person that early is not a wise decision, as a person may develop cognizance and skill with time. Many famous personalities would not have come to existence if they were have been ceased to not pursue their fields of interests.

By dissuading students, institutes might disparage them and their self-confidence in the early age which could lead to seriously bad consequences. It could lead to mental trauma, blight self-assuredness, obstruction in self-growth. Doing this is immoral as it, steals the wisdom and freedom of a person to choose by own, which are his/her rights by birth.

However, an educational institute instead deciding not to opt a field of study for students, should only report students and their kin about their progress regarding that field and to suggest the possibility that the student might or might not be able to burgeon in it. Thus, rather discouraging institutes must provide students with constructive and unbiased opinions, bolstering them to prosper in their careers.

After pondering over the topic, I strongly believe that it is iniquitous that an educational institute take whole and sole responsibility of the career of students and deter them from pursuing fields in which they are not likely to thrive. Institutes should be more like giving their disinterested and useful opinions to students for their profit and welfare helping them achieve success which they desire.