Educational institutions have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.

The issue of whether or not schools should discourage students to enroll into programs which they have less chances of success is a contentious one. I believe that, education institutions should guide students to make better choices of studies because they have experience in these fields. Furthermore, it will help students to save cost and time.

First, learning organizations have necessary resources and experience to guide students. A student who has just finished high school who is not be aware of what degree program to pursue at the university needs guidance. Some students could have a rough idea of what they would like to become later, say a computer specialist, but universities have a wide range of programs such as Information and communication technology (ICT), ICT management, computer engineering, information system. A student will be confused with all these options. Here is when the role of university comes into play for example if a candidate has poor mathematical background then he should be advice to take ICT management rather than Engineering.

Second, save time and money. If a student engages in a program only to discover that, he cannot cope and eventually fail it will be a total waste of time. When same student join a program which has a higher chance of success, he will be more motivated. Based on lessoned learned from previous students and experience of professors, students can take the most successful path.

Some may argue that, dissuading students is bad because it will go against students’ interest. This point is flawed because; even if they have developed their interest in different fields but if they have poor background will have less chances of survival.

In conclusion, the academic institutions should be responsible for to ensure students pursues courses in which are more advantageous to them.