Educational institutions have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

The given issue concerns quite complicated problem - the responsibility of educational institutions to dissuade students from pursuing field of study in which they unlikely to succeed. The statement is obviously controversial and debatable at least, because it tries to shift responsibility to the side that should not do it at all. Perhaps, students will be more effective in such business.

The given claim states that educational institutions should be responsible for students. Probably, it is an extreme infancy, because, students are quite mature people, who can be responsible for their own way of education. The only thing that educational institutions should do is to provide the vast variety of courses and study programs. In this regard, any student will have the possibility to find his/ her own way to succeed. For example, a student is not so good at math, and he or she perfectly knows that, however, this student wants to become IT specialist. According to the given issue, a college administration should dissuade the student from the aim. Obviously it is wrong. The college should provide such program there the student may demostrate the great academic performance. In this regard, the educational system will not lose a new Wozniak, for example.

The second argument, which is against the given claim, is that a student always has own responsibility for the choice. It stimulate a student realize the world from another side. The side there he or she is repsonsible for choosen way. College time is such wonderful time when a young person tries to develop in a mature person. The choice of study, which he or she makes independently, serioulsy enhances personal development. There is no doubt that such thing like own responsibility is a key factor in the process of personal becoming.

Probably, there is only one positive moment in the given claim. When a student has contrast aims like to become an artist and to become a scientist, and an educational instiution sees that the student has the potential to become a new Gogen, and, in this regard, a kind advice could be helpful for this student. However, it should not dissuade the student, it may give an advice, not more.

To sum up, the given issue is obviously wrong, because it ignores such sersious thing like a personal development of students, because responsibility is the key factor in this business.