Educational institutions have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

The claim that dissuading the students from pursuing fields of study in which their success chances are less likely to occur, doesn't seems to be cogent. Success in any field requires diligent working on that field for several years. One must not reach to any conclusion in haste at such an embryonic stage of a student's career. There can be numerous reason underlying the current performance of a student; which if, are taken care of, will surely ameliorate the situation.

To begin with, consider, a student who's not performing well in mathematics. This fact, however, cannot be posited to reach to a point that he must not pursue any mathematics related domain, and if he or she does, he will fail. Albeit, currently he is not doing good enough but there is a very clear possibility that if a student is given proper guidance then he may develop interest and can do great things in that domain. Similarly, for a student who is not so good in English at his rudimentary stage, for him the fact doesn't preclude the possibility that can't be a great editor or connoisseur of English, later. There can copious amount of reason that why he is not good right now, like: family background, initial school background etc. So, if a student has caliber and is given proper guidance then possibility of success are very propitious.

To support further, success is a long continuous effort. A reasoning simply based on an inspection of the student at early age cannot be take as a face value to assume anything. Also, a student's efforts and good grades in a particular subject are also inspired by his/her peer group or family pressure. Hence, in such case interest of a student is left behind and belied by these things. Such, a hasty conclusion for his career will only exacerbate the situation as the student's interest is ignored and it's a general truth that one is most likely to succeed if he do what he likes most.

Last, sometimes students shows interest in some field because they like the way things are shown them pertaining to that field. The way of showcasing something is a great art in enticing people to believe that it is something that's great and they must do. Although, one can truly understand whether he likes a certain field or not depends on his interest only but getting few good grades or any cursory inspection in no way a justification that one is surely going to succeed.

In a nutshell, there are various points that educational institutes must keep in their mind before reaching any conclusion. A student's interest in any field is a vital point to reach to any conclusion. Simply dissuading students to pursue a subject is not a very prudent decision unless, it is as per student's interest.