Educational institutions have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and suppo

Educational institution plays a very important role in building one's career and grooming a child to face the world. However, I do not agree with the author that it is the responsibility of educational institutions to dissuade students from following their whim and force to pursue a field of study which is more likely to help them succeed.

Educational institutions have a sole responsibility to educate students and provide all means to help them build their career. They are liable to provide good education and support that a child's need, but cannot guarantee that the child will be successful. Also it doesn't mean that a child who didn't complete his education will not be successfully. Notable examples of such cases would be famous scientist Thomas Elva Edison and Apple founder Steve Job, who both were dropouts and were extremely successful in their career.

Success cannot be defined by accounting single measure. For one, success means having billions in a bank account while for other; success just means living a long healthy life. Thus educational institutions cannot account for all these measures and cannot predict good fortune for a child. However happiness and good fortune can be predicted when one follows his or her dream and makes one's hobby his or her career.

Therefore students should be allowed to choose the field of study they want to pursue so that they are more dedicated towards it and are more likely to be successful. For example, a student who has interest in photography will have fewer chances to succeed in a field of engineering. Instead if he is allowed to follow his dream, then he could become a famous wildlife photographer and be very successful in his life.

Lastly, it is not clear by author’s remark that who will decide for students on which field will lead them to success. Will it be a counsellor or a teacher? Definitely they can help a student with his or her queries or help to make out a decision when they are being ambivalent. But they cannot forecast future. A successful career in present times may not be a promising one in the future.

Thus educational institutions cannot foresee what will guarantee success for a child and hence do not hold responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.