Educational institutions have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.

The claim made is that it is incumbent upon the educational institutions to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed. They claim may on the face of it attract a lot of criticism, as it seems to be somewhat curbing freedom of student. However one cannot overlook the merits of the claim which are described below in detail.

First and foremost, students are not some highly experienced, professionally trained individuals, who can easily see list out the merits and demerits of a situation and act accordingly. Students are still at the nascent stages in their carriers and thus are easily susceptible to making wrong choices about their field of study. However, educational institutions on the other hand are pretty much experts in such a situation. They certainly have a huge experience and also a detailed record of the student performance. Therefore, it only behooves, educational institutions to timely assess the students and provide them with a clear picture about the chances of success. Like in my case when after, completing my high school I also faced a same kind of dilemma. Whether to pursue my higher education in the field of medical or engineering. At that time it was only the valuable insights from my teachers, about what is better for me, that helped me make the right decision.

Moreover, if educational institutions adopt such a policy to discourage students from pursuing fields in which the future prospects are not bright, it may actually prove to be a blessing for the students. To explain my case let us focus on College education in US. The cost of getting a College degree is very high there. Students often take huge loans to pursue their education. Seemingly, in such a scenario pursuing a degree in a field in which your performance is not that good or your aptitude is below par will most certainly hamper your prospects for better employment opportunities, or in worst case leave you jobless with huge debts to pay. Such a scenario could be avoided if college authorities timely assess the student capabilities and based on those encourage them to choose their field of study.

On the contrary, such a policy can be seen as interfering with a student’s freedom to pursue studies in their fields of interest. Students who want to study science and become scientists, may well get discouraged enough to give up science and take up finance.

In conclusion, I am of the view that educational institutions must certainly encourage the students to pursue fields in which the likelihood of success is greater.