Educational institutions have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Educational institutions are one of the most relevant establishments to the students, meaning they have some influence over the student’s decision, whether they buttress their choice or instead they try to convince them into take another path. Nevertheless, they are not directly responsible to dissuade the students when their pick is not the most adequate to succeed, and in the next paragraphs I will explain why I do not fully agree with the statement presented above.

Colleges and other schools that mold the student’s view of the world are by default, one of the most invigorating guides for them, the future workforce of the country. And, as such, they have the ability to empower and improve the moral of the student when they have made their mind about a future career in which they seem an adequate prospect. In the other hand, when the student’s choice is not the ideal for his skills and abilities, the school has the responsibility to provide guidance and recommend a better option based on the performance of the student. For instance, if the student chooses to pursue a musical career, but his musical and art skills are not good, and instead he has done well in the natural sciences, such as mathematics or physics, the teacher could suggest changing to a more suitable choice, and let the musical part as a hobby.

Even as a student may argue that the career choice recommended by the school is not what he wants, he should consider that the teacher or adviser has more experience and knowledge of the real world and what he face ahead. The advisor should make the student see that while he have a special desire, the real world is not particularly fond of people’s dreams and that a more realistic option would be better in the future, even if the student does not see it that way at the moment.

There are some exceptional cases where the most amazing breakthroughs in some fields were made by people following their dreams, in spite of what people trying to abate their dreams told them, but we could use statistics to prove that these cases are extremely low and improbable. Also, there may be some situations where the teachers or advisors have a wrong perception because of their academic vision, or they could have even underestimated the student’s skills, nonetheless, the student should not see this as an attempt of the school to control or curtail his chasings, but as a way of advice that is based on knowledge and experience, probably with the best of intentions.

In conclusion, the educational institutions do have the responsibility to try and persuade a student that has made a wrong choice of a career, but the ultimate decision is still the student’s. And he should take into consideration all the factors that will affect his future, the reasons behind the recommendations and what can he do to make the best choice.