Educational institutions have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

The academic institutions play great role not only in shaping their students’ intellectual development, but shaping the lens from which their students see the world. As a result the quality of educational offered in academic institution students attended could be influential factor in determining the students’ level of accomplishments in life. It is not a surprise that many of the US elite military generals were graduates of the prestigious West Point Military Academy. Most of the influential members of the U.S Congress, and top business executive, like Barack Obama, and Mark Zuckerberg respectively, were graduate of US Ivy League schools.

This influential role educational institutions in shaping most of our successful leaders and business executive could instigate one to suggest that educational institutions has an obligation to discourage students from pursuing disciplines that they have higher chance of failure. Teachers and academic counselors assess students’ academic, personality, and critical thinking skills through quantitative assessments like test, exams, and qualitative assessment like oral interviews. The result of these assessment could be used as predictors of students’ chance of success in specific subject of study. Thus, a teacher could advise a student with weak skills in Math to pursue a discipline in language courses that require little math stills instead of applied Mathematics that involves enormous math skills.

Although these academic assessment tools could be used to predict student chance of success in a particular field of study, there are not the ultimate determinant of students chances of success in a particular field of study. Academic performance is a variable that could be influenced by many factors such as: lack of motivation, family and personal problems, and lack of support. Unless academic institution could develop a tool for accurately determining all factors that would influence students’ performance, they are not in position to discourage students from following a specific course of study.

These factors that could hamper students’ academic performance are known only by the students. Thus, it is the students’ responsibility to e access their ability of overcoming these factors, and choose either to pursue the particular course of study in question or switching to a different course of study. Educational institutions have the responsibility of providing students with the resources to help students address these factors and make informed decision about their course of study. For example, a student that is struggling in as class because of a recent divorce experience could turn around his or her performance if provided with the services of a marriage therapist or clinical psychologist.

Taking the role of discouraging students without first empowering them to overcome the challenges they face with a particular field of study could lead to demoralization of students. The hypothetical students could perceive the discouragement as a failure. It could even hamper his or her ability to succeed in other field. For example, Malcolm X stated in his biography that his passion for education was thwarted when he told his primary school teacher that he wanted to become a lawyer. Instead of encouraging him, the teacher told him that he could rather become a carpenter instead of a lawyer, because law was beyond his social and economic limit. Although, the teacher, might be right, but Malcolm X was demoralized by the teacher’s comment that took away his autonomy of self-determination. On the other hand, Wole Soyinka, most prominent African Noble Laurent, failed his law examination three times and graduated with third class from the University of Ibadan, Nigeria. However, as result of the moral encouragement from his law professors that he could still have a successful law career, Wole Soyinka proceeded to United States for his postgraduate law program. He is regarded today as one of African successful lawyers.

Based on the above examples, academic institution should be obligated to discourage students’ interest even when all means have been exhausted to help the students improve the chance of success in that field. Nevertheless, the decision should be left to students because students are the best predictors of their ability to succeed in a particular field of study. Educational institutions have the obligation of helping students make these decision by providing motivating and providing them with the resources to make informed decision.