Educational institutions have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.

While I don't fully agree with this statement, it has some merits. Educational institutions are endowed with a responsibility to shape the future generations in this world but how they guide these generations and how the generations respond to it is a completely different matter. "Educational institutions have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed"- while I do agree to this statement to some point, in my opinion, its not going to yield desirable results. The statement should be "Educational institutions have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are not passionate towards".

Every creature in this world has a natural propensity for independence, human beings are no different. To dissuade students from pursuing any field is to somewhat rob them of their freedom. If someone is passionate towards his field, no one should dissuade him away from it. For example, a student, who badly wants to study mathematics but forced to study medical science, will surely not lead a content life if he is not happy with what he does. He may not even succeed due to the lack of motivation. But if he wants to become an mathematician, no matter how much the odds are against him, he will surely try his best to succeed. If in case he doesn't, then he won't have many regrets. While exploring these mazes of interests and uninterests he will find what he is really looking for. He may find somewhere along the way to become a kindergarten teacher.

But there are certain downsides to it. A student who goes through a field - in which he is no good at - might find himself in a place where he is miserable. The student (discussed before) who wants to study mathematics will find himself in a life of gloom and despair, finally giving up if he drops into a loop hole of failed attempts at exams in the field. So sometimes it is necessary to dissuade students from fields they are unlikely to succeed in.

On the other hand, if students are dissuaded by educational institutions from pursuing a field they are unlikely to succeed in might result in utter debacle. If a student - who doesn't like art - is forced into an art school, will surely be unsatisfied, yielding a very poor result. The likelihood of success becomes a second priority to his passion. As a result, in the future he may lead a very discontent life. By doing this the educational institutions will not do the upcoming generations any favor.

Finally, it can be argued that educational institutions have a responsibility to provide the world with successive educated generations. But robbing the students of their freedom and passion, forcing them into a specific field without any consideration to their passion will not yield any desirable result. Moreover, it might destroy their productive capability. Students should follow their passion, in there lies the key to success.