Educational institutions have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.

On average, a person spends quarter of his life in an educational institution and is greatly influenced by this experience. Some people are of opinion that students should be allowed to study whatever strikes their hearts, but other feel that educational institutions should play an important role in advising students about pursuing certain fields of study. I believe, the author is right in claiming that it is the responsibility of educational institutions to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.

Firstly, education these days is an expensive endeavor. An ingenuous student might choose a field of study in short term based on his interests but might end up regretting his choices in long term. For instance, if a student chooses quantum physics as his field of study, it might be difficult for him to find a job later on as there are more teachers compared to students in this field. Hence, before pursuing a field of study student should have knowledge about the prospects future holds for him.

Secondly, in the recent years, time period of courses has increased as well as the specialization. Graduates are highly specialized in certain fields as a result of which job market is also very selective. For example, the student might lose interest in his field of study over time and end up dropping out of institution. Specialized courses at higher levels of educations make it quite difficult to switch from one field of study to other. Thus, student might end up with no education or something in which he has no interest.

However, some might argue that students should be allowed to study only what really interests them. If this ends being the case, we would face an acute scarcity of doctors, engineers, politicians etc. which would adversely effect the world. Though, a person should not be forced to study something which does not interest him, he can strike a balance between the field of study that interests him and in which he is likely to succeed.

For all the reasons stated above, I therefore believe that educational institutions are mentors to student and should definitely share a responsibility in properly educating them about pursuing a particular field of study.