Educational institutions have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

This topic raises the controversial issue of giving educational institutions the responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing the fields in which they are unlikely to succeed.Arguably,the educational institution can judge a students performance accurately and suggest the pros and cons in his educational abilities but that alone cannot be used as an indicator to prove that the institutions have a responsibility to dissuade students from their respective path.thus,i generally disagree to the statement.

Firstly,students take their own decisions regarding where their talent lies throughout the tenure of their academics.

If there is a constant surveillance and unwanted advice coming from another perspective might make the student dazed and confused about where their talent actually lies.The institute, rather than giving their own input as to why a student might or might not succeed in a particular subject should have regular aptitude tests conducted in the premises

for the student to realise what his or her strengths are as it allows self introspection on the part of the student which is better than any professor or institute even with their expertise might provide the student with.Furthermore,the students might feel that as the suggestion is coming from the institute point of view it might be accurate given to their reputation or any other factor which may not be true.

Secondly,there are no predefined set of parameters which could determine the future success of a student in a particular field.Due to the immense diversity amongst students with varying aspirations and goals, it is impossible to devise a single generic method of prediction for everyone.There are instances wherein a student might not be performing well in their 12th grade in a particular subject but with determination might be able to not only clear it but excel in it.In fact,there are many students who choose their majors while still in their undergraduate studies depending upon where their interests lie.However,their past performance doesn’t necessarily bolster their aspirations.

Admittedly,the institute should provide advice as a form of suggestion to students who are exponentially better than other students in some aspects of education.For example,a student with an ideal physique should be given advice to play more sports and represent their institutions.In such cases,the students with a better physique might be able to perform better than the one who might not be endowed with a good body.Hence,institutions should provide feedback a s form of advice rather than treating it as their own responsibility.

In conclusion,the educational institutes should put their attention on other aspects in improving infrastructure for students than to decide their fields of study.However,institutions should provide counselling to students to weigh in their strengths and their weaknesses by themselves.It will help student gain clarity as to what he or she wants to pursue without giving a leeway to doubt.As long as the opinion of the education body does not overshadow the opinion of students, the students can benefit from the invaluable feedback provided by the institutes