Educators should take students' interests into account when planning the content of the courses they teach.

While to a simple mind the given statement may seem quite straightforward a perspicacious observation and thoroughgoing rumination of the averment implicates that the ramification of taking the interest of students into account while preparing curriculum has variegated dimensions. In my opinion, the educator should always focus on teaching the students in the best possible way and to do that he/she may adopt any method he/she feels correct insofar the method does not affect the objective of pedagogy. The matter to be taught in hand, in fact, also has some effect on the strategy the teacher adopt; the method of teaching physics will always substantially differ from the technique of teaching art and literature. Hence, even though the interest of the students is one of the most important, if not the only one factor there are other factors that must be taken into account- for example, the subject area, the topic in hand, the intricacy of the field and so on and so forth.

The laws of mechanics, as we all know, seems difficult to most of the students because of the complicacy of the subject itself. Suppose, a student has great fascination towards science and he feels minimal attraction in business towards business, social science and art. The student, in this particular case, with substantial amount of fear towards mechanics may want that the teacher help him with physics by eliminating mechanics from syllabus. What will be the consequence of this kind of leniency? This kind of decision, in the long run, will affect the student greatly notwithstanding the students’ great predilection towards science. In this situation, educator cannot take into account the students interest albeit his feeling of aversion towards a certain subject area for the students own sake.

Furthermore, the field of arts also deserves the students to go through some delicate and convoluted subject area: a student of painting must know the prehistoric story of art and a student of literature must know the type of discourses practiced during Renaissance or Baroque period. The necessity of learning art history is that, many of the students turn out to be art critics rather than artists after completing their academic education. That is why the teacher, for the sake of well-being of the students, must not omit this seemingly boring kind of literature from syllabus. The same thing goes for other fields of learning- engineering, medical etc.; the syllabus always contain some material that all of the students must not feel attracted to.

The course content, however, sometimes contain some unrequited materials that does not deserve any introduction in the course; sometimes they can turn an interesting subject matter into a lackluster one. Educators should always be careful to go through the content before they introduce it in front of the class to make sure that the subject matter is actually necessary and they should always update their syllabus to make it concordant with the contemporary practices. They should, indeed, take suggestions from the students about the methods of teaching and so on to make the subject more comprehensible.

The foregoing discourse has made it conspicuous that the students may have some opinion about the course content and method, but the major decision must always be taken by the instructor. True, interesting matters engages us to a subject thoroughly, but to delve into a topic thoroughly we have to face the difficult part of the issue sometimes.