Educators should teach facts only after their students have studied the ideas, trends, and concepts that help explain those facts.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree/disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

In any given academic setting, educators must find the best way to impart education that is complemented by wisdom. While in certain academic fields and levels, fact learning appears to be the ideal method for the students, yet on a deeper inspection it is revealed that learning by absorbing the concepts and ideas behind the facts is vital for progress in those very fields too. Since every known field offers scope for advancements, studying the root causes of phenomenons related to any subject, is required for the desired development.

Roger Lewin, the popular science author of more than 20 books said, “Too often we give children answers to remember than problems to solve.” Certainly, this bodes not so well for the progress of humankind. It is commonly viewed that children or young students would be unable to grasp the concepts of the things they are taught. As a consequence, prescribed textbooks contain facts and dates of events, or scientific rules and mathematical equations, to devour rather than the reasons behind those very occurrences or situations. In contrast to this belief that children will be burdened by deeper concepts, the truth however is that children possess the most inquisitive minds. It is strange that even though people acknowledge the above fact, educators fail to consider it while designing the school curriculums for young students. Teachers are instead keen to dodge curious inquisitions by young minds and this gradually kills their interest to learn more. For instance, when a child asks why the sky is blue, teachers would either regard it as insolence, or ask him to learn it when it is taught in an upper grade. The student would be dejected and demotivated in such a circumstance and his once alighted interest in the topic would fade out. Hence instead of producing a mass of rote learners by teaching mere facts, educators should focus on producing answers to the querries of the students by way of concepts, and origins of the causes or ideas, right from the time they are developed in the students’ minds. This of course should be implemented in ways, that the students do not feel burderned, but intsead find their interest kindled. This would mould young students to think of ways to solve real life issues, rather than being inundated by a bunch of irrelevant facts.

Furthermore, once students are taught the roots, causes, and ideas behind the facts, they would be better equipped to answer any related theory that is out of their academic syllabus. This again is a growing pre-requisite in today’s world. For instance, if a student masters the concepts of structural engineering design, he/she would be able to solve the trickiest strength question that might be faced in a competitive exam. This student would fittingly be able to provide solutions to even a real world problem, in contrast to a student who mugged up mere equations to pass the school test. Besides, the student who has mastered his concepts in any field, would also be able to lucidly illustrate the same to others, thereby imparting his/her intellect to others, in a manner that is efficacious. Thus teaching concepts and ideas, along with the facts would help generate geniuses who can not only grasp the roots of a phenonmenon that is taught, but also can deliver it to the world.

Many would argue that there are still fields like physics or math where elaboration on concepts behind laws and equations are not convenient as it is both time consuming and serves no extra purpose. However, in response to this, it should be understood that although elaborate details of the origins of say thermodynamic equations might not be necessary, yet the fundamental concept behind the laws are vital for a thorough understanding of the topic. Even if the history of the development of a formula is not very necessary for a definite study course, yet for the purpose of research the historical development of any phenomena is one thing that eventually help explain the present form of the same. For instance, a researcher trying to solve an issue on sustainable concrete production would hugely benefit by learning the stages of progress of concrete production and the root causes of its unsustainability. He may not require to know the detailed microstructure of every concrete characteristic, yet he would need the development of microstructure properties in general throughout the ages, to base his study in the first place.

In conclusion, it is essential that the educators recognize and implement the reasoning of facts by way of concepts, ideas and trends, so as to create dynamic students. It is an universal truth that lack of concept in any field of study, or mere rote-learning will lead to stagnation in that field. Besides, the earliest inventors and discoverers did not use definite formulas or facts to find answers about the universe. They applied their ideas, wisdom and intellect, formulated empirical equations, and took years of pondering to come up with a finding. Hence given these reasons, educators should strive to complement education and wisdom by teaching ideas and concepts behind the facts to produce successful students.