The effectiveness of a country's leaders is best measured by examining the well-being of that country's citizens.

It is a controversial subject for people to decide whether the well-being of all its citizens in a country is the best metric to gauge the effectiveness of its leaders or not. Some people may agree this statement, for the reason that the welfare of humankind is the shared vision of both national leaders and ordinary people. But I, though regard it as a main factor, will appraise the effectiveness of national leaders from multiple dimensions in different times:the long-run improvement of well-being of all its people, creative solution to difficulties and dangers they face, the striking effects on human existence they make. In addition, we should owe our well-being to leaders, artists, scientists and ourselves.

Admittedly, the well-being of all the citizens is an important indicator to measure the effectiveness of national leaders, because people is one of the basic elements of a distinct national entity in political geography. Firstly, no one can deny their satisfaction with high quality of standard of life, compared to poor health, little happiness, low income. For this reason, as top authorities, what needs for their work is to meet their obligations to all the citizens. Secondly, the public is the cornerstone of social existence, who contributes their efforts to the stability and booming of a society. Only with the support from all areas of people can national leaders efficiently get things moving, and vice versa----they would have to be confronted with strikes, chaos, turmoil, or even worsely, insurrection. Thirdly, it is also necessary for a nation to remain sustainable progress and development. Just as the Chinese saying goes, the same knife cuts bread and fingers. So, the national leaders should not forget to go around with the burden of human well-being on their shoulders the whole time, as do Denmark, Switzerland, Iceland, Sweden, Norway, the top ranks of the World Happiness Index in 2016.

However, don't forget the fact that the public welfare can hardly do without the achievements of the artists and scientists in a nation, and even the diffusion of knowledge and technology abroad, as many people argue that those from different fields devote themselves to the prosperity of their country. For instance, artists like Beethoven(musician), Van Gosh(painter), Ieoh Ming Pei(architect), Yang Liping(dancer), make our life colorful, comfortable, and sometimes give us a kind of feeling that we seem to go to a world of beauty beyond description; scientists like Yuan Longping(agronomist), Qian Xuesen(aerodynamicist), Chu Kochen(geographer and meteorologist), modified human existence towards being more convenient, sustainable, happy, all of them have greatly enhanced the Happiness Index of humankind. Most importantly, general people like civil servants, soldiers, firemen, construction workers, also contribute their hard work to the public welfare. In a word, nearly everybody does work of this kind and that to other's happiness.

Moreover, predominated by supreme leaders, a revolutionary change in a country is a matter of reflecting the effectiveness of their work. Take two great figures as examples, one is Mao Zedong, the founder of the People's republic of China, unified a divided country and created socialism, resulting in a vast improvement in life for the Chinese people: the longer life expectancy, the lower infant baby mortality, the swelling literacy, the profound reduction in violence. Another example is Deng Xiaoping, the maker of modern China, who put the country on a path of rapid economic development and to bring it into the mainstream of international life by reforming and opening-up, leading to a big move in economic growth and the standard of life of hundreds of millions of people. So great are their accomplishments that they have altered the situation not only of China but of the world. Besides President Lincoln led the United States through its Civil War, abolished slavery, modernized the economy, and Chairman Xi Jinping is launching the movement of anti-corruption, all of which reveal the achievements of these leaders.

Last but not least, faced with the complicated and fast-changing world, the effectiveness of today's national leaders manifests from various aspects. Except for the well-being of its citizens, more indicators can reveal these leaders' performance: strategic and comprehensive vision, fast-response to diverse crises, creative thinking to knotty problems, inspiring teamwork to produce synergistic effect, fashioning national spirit of equality, fairness, bravery, cohesion, peace, innovation, devotion, friendship, and so on, and what matters is the use of different metrics with the necessity of era to measure their efficient work.

Therefore, from the above analysis, the effectiveness of national leaders exhibits various facets according to different contexts they live. To be fair and reasonable, the appraisement for the work of national leaders should include multidimensional metrics, not merely the well-being of all its citizens.