The effectiveness of a country's leaders is best measured by examining the well-being of that country's citizens.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

To measure the effectiveness of a leaders, which in itself is a complicated subject to define, by just the parameter of well-being of citizenry seems unfair. Also, well-being of citizens is an elusive topic to be measured.

Well-being of a citizens depends on many factors that may not be influenced by leadership alone. For instance, a country rich in resources like minerals, oils, rivers, fertile soils and moderate temperatures would be self sufficient and not depend on extrinsic help. The people of such country would unlikely be affected by famine or draughts. There are more chances of such countries to prosper. Now consider an average government in this country and an excellent government in country which is not so rich in its resources. It is very likely in this situation that both the nations may do equally well or that the first nation is doing better that the second. In this scenario, the leader of the second nation are doing their best and their efforts are bearing fruits, but the same result can be achieved by the first nation with little effort. Thus the well being of citizens, alonr does not provide an unbiased scale to measure the leaderships.

Effectiveness of a leadership is a result of various factors. In a democracy where President or the Prime Minister change ever few years, the state of the country when the leader gains power becomes an important factor. For example, Obama, an exemplary leader, came to power when Americans were troubled by rising unemployment rates. Though he made effective changes that eventually led to betterment of the country, many people associate unemployment with his period of being president. They do not see that he was given the nation that was in a state of turmoil. Also, take the example of Brexit. Though the president rightfully warned the citizens about demerits of leaving European Union, the referendum was for the separation. The leader respected the wishes of citizens. Thus, we see many effective leaders do not translate to well-being of the country without the country offering them cooperation.

Hence, effectiveness of leaders cannot be measured in terms of well being of citizens, as well being depends on many factors. There have been effective leaders in times when people were not happy due to other reasons.