The fact that technology is outpacing the needs of those in cultures that can afford the technology creates cultures of excess consumerism

Technology is an emerging field in the present age. New gadgets often make people of all ages go crazy about it. I think the above statement that technology is outpacing the needs of those in cultures that can afford the technology creates cultures of excess consumerism is correct but it goes the other way around.

First of all, let me start with an example. Looking at the first half of the statement. When we enter a store, say a standard grocery shop, do we immediately start looking for the ones we need or linger about looking at what is available and then forming a list of all those we require. When we run our minds through an imaginary list, we often come across a few items, which aren't there and we think to ourselves, I just wish I could have found this item here or mutter out loud, God, why doesn't this store have anything I require. This is where the "outpacing" part comes into picture. In the past, when technology was in it's nascent stages, it was met with enthralled faces and shocked comments. Nowadays, the standard of expectation has increased so much, a mere upgraded version of a product is met with a pair of disinterested eyes.

Now for the second half. In the past, when the first generation of phones came into the industry, people bought them out of mere curiosity. Nowadays, those in cultures that can afford the technology are ready to profligate endlessly on anything they come across. It is become of this type of consumerism that excess technology is being created. No longer are we interested in what is being created but how latest can we be in have the gadgets that are part of this. We ignore the fact that we do not require the gadget. This endless buying has created a vast amount of unnecessary technology. Hence, it is not the endless technology that creates excess consumerism alone but the endless consumerism that creates endless technology too.

Notice that in the previous sentence I used the word alone in between the two contrasts. To say that the enormous amount of buying is the only culprit would be throwing the blame on the consumers alone. Technology brands too have their finger in the pie. They have formed a conclusion that needless of what is displayed, people of rich class would never think twice to buy it. Companies often prevaricate and this entire equivocation has affected us all. The most affected are teenagers and children who due to their immaturity fall prey to the advertisements. And the whole process of consumerism is repeated. \

Therefore, I would like to conclude by saying, the statement that technology is outpacing the needs of those in cultures that can afford the technology creates cultures of excess consumerism alone is not correct but the fact that needs of those in cultures that can afford the technology is outpacing technology and endless consumerism creates excess technology. The only way we could not fall into the pit of consumerism is only when we do not depend on technology alone and spend our resources on other important things we need too.