Formal education tends to restrain our minds and spirits rather than set them free.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The policy presents a view that I agree most of the time however doesn’t hold true for other reasons mainly because the policy states that the same curriculum should be provided to ‘all’ students when every individuals learning style and pace differs from each other.

At an early age, students find it difficult to decide what is right and what is wrong. Therefore, formal education with a fixed curriculum plays an important role in guiding the students in younger age and provides an equal method of learning to all kids across the country. Whether a kid is studying in a school in a large city or a school with small population in a rural town, all the kids in the country receives the same level of education. Thus, when the enter college, they are equally competent with the students from large cities. However, this is not always the case, since every individual’s ability to learn differs from each other.

Many studies have shown that there are three types of learning method:, auditory, visual or kinesthetic and that most people learns better through one of these methods, though in ideal world all three combines to be a better approach to learning. In some cases, the educators don’t recognize the different styles of learning that a certain student require and as a result fail to provide the method. In the end, even though the same level of information has been provided to all students certain group of students might be left behind. For instance in the case for many developing countries many schools tend to lack with study materials and visual aids. One example would be in my own country of Mongolia, many schools in the rural areas face the same issues mentioned above due to financial constraints. The school might have few students who are visual learners and when that is missing in classes, they are left behind in certain extent, even though the same level of education is provided to all the students. For this case, a student might need a different curriculum that aids their style of learning.

Another reason why the same national curriculum is not fit for all students is because not every individual is the same. They have different intellectual ability, some are faster learners and some have difficulty learning in normal level of education. What is a normal level of education? Let’s say that is the national fixed curriculum. There are certain groups of highly intellectual students in young age and they must be identified and put to a different curriculum which is more challenging to them. That way you prepare the next generation of the great scientists, engineers and artists of one’s nation. For example, in Australia these highly intellectual kids are identified at their young age and when they finish their the same standard level national curriculum studies they are picked up from each schools and put together in a different class where they explore much challenging tasks. On the contrary, there are students who need special attention and less intense type of education. Thus, a different set of curriculum must be prepared for those with intellectual disability. In most countries, they have special schools where these students go to. This is an excellent way of not putting the students under a pressure and keeping in minimal. Otherwise, the risk that follows would be severe which includes, drop out from school or even suicide.

In conclusion, a nation needs the same national curriculum in the first place to identify the different learners they have in the country and the next step would be to pay special attention to the different groups of students.