Formal education tends to restrain our minds and spirits rather than set them free.

The author states that an individual's freedom of thought is hindered through formal education rather than allowing free thinking. Formal education gives an opportunity for individuals pursue their interest in areas of their choosing with some prior basic knowledge. While the helpfulness of formal education's debatable topic, I disagree with the claim that formal education restrain's one's mind and conforms thinking.

Firstly, formal education is one of the means with which imbibes an individual to think in numerous ways about a single topic or a problem. For instance: while solving a problem in math, a student learns to solve an individual problem in more than one way. This gives a different perspective to one individual issue or problem. Further, inculcating the skill of "thinking out of the box".

Secondly, an individual student who's interest extends to a particular field of study, formal education helps the student obtain deeper insight into that particular field of study that interest's him/her. It could further lead to contribution by that person in the particular field of his/her endeavor. Further contributing to the welfare of the society which would bring in a sense of satisfaction to that person.

Citing an example of a person's interest extending to the field of medicine, she was able to get formal education in the field of medicine with the intention of becoming a doctor and aiding to the needs of many people who suffer from illness. Her endeavor in obtaining formal education and further willing to contribute to saving others' lives has set her spirits free although she had to endure upon the journey of formal education.

In conclusion, formal education used to one's advantage, in pursuing the interest that one has, could be used to set one's spirits free and train the mind to think of a solving an issue from a different point of view.