Formal education tends to restrain our minds and spirits rather than set them free.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Formal education is a structured medium through which we acquire knowledge of the world's science, arts, philosophy, history. The statement asserts that formal education restricts our minds rather than set them free. It is undeniable fact that, formal education is a kind of mold, which shaped and thus restrains our thinking power and force us to think according to customs, and that is why, I believe formal education restrains our soul and I agree with the statement.

Education is the power through which human mind acquire strength to face the darkness of ignorance. Education enlightens our soul and thus the light of knowledge is bestowed upon us to fight against odds and ignorance. But the problem is that, formal education is a kind of mold, which shapes our mind to think in a certain way and force us to approach towards a problem in a predefined strategy. Thus, our spirits are thwarted and breakthroughs are being more difficult.

If we look at the history, we can see that, when Copernicus presented his heliocentric model, he faced great difficulty from his contemporary erudite persons, who were the staunch supporter of the geocentric model. If Copernicus had not brave enough to go against the formal education of his time, he would not have came out with an idea of heliocentric model at that time. So, thus the contemporaries of Copernicus were of perfect example of formal education which restricted their mind to accept the more logical truth.

Similarly, Abraham Lincoln, the first president of independent America, was not a student of conventional educational system. Because of his own schooling, he introspected his mind, went against the convention of slavery and enacted emancipation law, abandoned slavery from the history of America in the midst of huge opposition from his contemporary politicians and business people.

On the other hand, formal education is necessary as because, without a structured program, a nation can not thrive. With the help of formal education, we can learn the history of mankind and the systematic victory of science through years of diligent effort. We can not deny the fact that, it is necessary to have a conventional system, because it is needless to try all the people of the world to try to be Steve Jobs or Abraham Lincoln. If all the people wants to be the dissenter of conventionality, than there will be no one to do the mundane jobs, to work on the fields, to do the daily works required to rotate the wheel of civilization. Without the staunch supporter of the established truth, the system will collapse, there will be no one to continue the ongoing research based on the previous successful outcome.

So, to conclude, it is needless to say that, formal education retrains our mind and thinking ability. We need people who will go against the conventional system of education to bring the breakthrough, to think in a way which was not cultivated before. But at the same time, formal education is also required to retain the growth of civilization, to continue the work paved by our predecessor.