Formal education tends to restrain our minds and spirits rather than set them free.

In the Oscar winning movie - "The Beautiful Mind" - actor Russels Crawe has been featured as John Nash, a Nobel laureate in economics (1994). In the movie, we can see Russels (Nash in the film) quoting that "classroom education ruins one's mind". Now, how do we examine this statement? While many critics might support this quotation in more extreme sense without getting further background information, yet its not rational to do so. As far as I am concerned, I adhere to the notion that formal education enhance our mind, and its abilities, so that it ministers to set them free.

Those critics - who support that formal education ruins one's mind- prefer to give example of Einstein as well. Although the sources are not reliable, yet I have seen few people in internet believing that Einstein once said university education restrains one's mind. However, in my opinion, the context in which they (Nash and Einstein) said so might be different and today we don't consider the thorough context and remember the only the single sentence. Before giving the reference of these two great scholars, we should not forget that they loved teaching at university, they loved to teach people. If they had really said so, they had not shown interest in teaching at university. The fact, in my opinion, may be they believed universities and their education are the ultimate key to set free one's mind; however, they might have cautioned us that wrong way of teaching-and-learning really ruins students' mind.

Now lets consider the another aspect of the argument that I adhere to: formal education sets our minds free. Education is the key to enlighten our mind. Take myself for example. After joining formal education, today, I have knowledge at large: I have knowledge of different realm which makes me different from an uneducated, ignorant person. I understand the way people want to live, I understand people and their culture, and many more. Unlike an uneducated person, I can describe something in a novel way. Once, for example, my uneducated friend was beating his cow, for the cow was not milking. I witnessed the befalling. Then it is important to know what I did. I suggested him to call a veterinary doctor. Fortunately, he didn't deny my words and did what I had advised. Finally, a veterinary doctor cured the cow which started milking after the treatment. This is an evidence what formal education can do. Unlike an uneducated, an educated person can understand the hardship of other creatures as well - like I understood what might have happened with the cow and recommended to call doctor.

Likewise, one's attitude is vital for professional success. Can't we notice any difference in attitude between CEO of a company and the his clerk? Of course, there would be some obvious differences. And the root of the differences would be correlated with the differences in formal education. As a result, a formally educated person can chair in the leading position and strive to bring change in the society.

Therefore at the end of the day, I believe that formal education makes people open-minded: it sets one's spirit free and allow it to fly high in the sky. The arguments and hard fact examples presented above are to shore up my position.