The general welfare of a nation's people is a better indication of that nation's greatness than are the achievements of its rulers, artists, or scientists.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

What is the exact definition for welfare? It seems occult to response this question; because there is a wide range of demand based on the human`s avarice attitudes and manners. Moreover, there is not any standard life style and society whole to world to guarantee these demands in the same level. In this essay, I am going to go in to greater details to advocate my viewpoint, which welfare does not define by nation’s greatness.

One of the most important factors for my view point is unequal life standard in the world; as we know there is not equal condition and life standard through the world; for example, if you consider to the Ethiopia a society, which most of the people are in the starvelings level, finding just a daily meal seems as great achievement for them, and as they are successful the feel greatness. However, in the holistic view there are not in welfare. Thus, there are some societies, which there life conditions descend their attitude toward the life and greatness.

Another example for this case in the developing countries, which prepare appropriate life condition for their citizens; on the other hand, there are some political failure that alters the human`s satisfaction stage. For example, in the Iran, there is not any serious poverty problem, but the people suffer from failure of political rights, which can affect the other activities like arts, and science that need freedom. So, In this case the most important aim is achieve to this right; furthermore, other activities like art, and science get paled beside this attitude.

However, in the developed countries, which all fundamental and rudimentary needs of people like foods, safety, and social right are preserved, they should be more attention toward they art, science, and other cultural activities. Because these trifle aim seems as usual and hackneyed in this societies. In this case any scientific or artistic achievements seem as great goals and success and it indicates as whole society’s welfare and satisfactory.

In conclusion, the welfare of the societies is varied based on their condition. Welfare of people differs as their life standard differs. In some case rudimentary need seems as greatness and other activities like science and art seems worthless, however, in other case that are wealthy and satiated by these needs, science, and art become bold and important and as one of the important elements of welfare.