The general welfare of a nation's people is a better indication of that nation's greatness than are the achievements of its rulers, artists, or scientists.

When deciding the greatness of a country, we take the economic development and social welfare as a major standard. However, there is a disagreement among people which one comes first; whether the welfare of people or the achievements of leaders in different fields.

Admittedly, the achievement by leaders can have a far-reaching influence on people. For instance, in the 18th century, thanks to the development of the steam engine, U.K could develop more rapidly than other countries and initiated Industrial Revolution. If scientists were not endeavoring to the invention of steam engine, people in U.K would not have enjoyed its status as the world leading country. Besides, the invention of the light bulb could enable people to do something even in the night time. As it is proven in these examples, the invention by scientific leaders could have led to the increased well-being of people in the country.

However, the welfare of people should be the first standard determining the greatness of a nation. For example, in the 1970s of South Korea, Park Jung-hee was using more power than the president are supposed to be. To enlengthen his presidency, he corrected Korean Constitution several times and suppressed the voice from the opposition party. Even though his great achievement of rapid economic development, his authoritarian government degraded the virtue of democracy severely and the illegal behavior is criticized by people who see the history. When achievements of elites are emphasized as an indicator of a great nation, it might justify leaders' infringement on the value of democracy. For this reason, people's welfare is much more reliable standard to determine the greatness of a nation.