Government officials should rely on their own judgment rather than unquestioningly carry out the will of the people whom they serve.

weather the government should go by their own will or reply on the public opinion is a debatable topic. On one hand, many practical problems are not acknowledged, if government rely on their own judgement. On the other hand, ultimately government is doing any thing for the people, they should undoubtedly carry out the will of the people.

Firstly, when government rely on their own judgement they might be neglecting many practical problems. For example, recently in Indian government have demolished 500 and 1000 notes from their currency to fight corruption. Though, they have done this for the well being of the country, they have neglected several practical problems. Majority of the people were affected, since there was no way to exchange notes for the next 3 or 4 days and more over no ATM money withdrawal machine was not working. In addition, if government rely on their own decisions then there is a chance of loosing harmony in the society.

Secondly, If the government go according to the decision on people, then the chances of getting wrong will do down and they can easily acknowledge pros and cons of any plan or a situation. In this case people might share their inconvenience and practical problems, so that government can change their action on the plans accordingly. According to democracy "government is for the people, by the people and of the people" majority of the nations in the world follow democracy, this indicates that the nations follow democracy are in peace and development. So, it will always be wise to go by the people of the nation.

Some might argue, if government go by the people will then there will delay in taking decisions as a result development of the nation will not go accordingly. However, there is no single case where if government go by the public opinion and still undeveloped. For example, USA follow democracy and China follow Communism by this it is clear that decisions based on the public will might not effect the development.

In conclusion, government can work by acknowledging the pros and cons of a plan if they go by public opinion. Admittedly government can take quick decisions when they work accordingly. However, such decisions might not work well in majority of the situations. Following according to the public would me more effective method.