Governments should focus on solving the immediate problems of today rather than on trying to solve the anticipated problems of the future.

Around the world, Governments are considered to be working for betterment of the people. Though Governments are advised to take every decision considering the long term effects, immediate focus of any government should be to resolve immediate problems and overcome the challenges with long term sustainable solutions.

First of all, it is important to understand that there is very thin line of assumption between immediate problem and anticipated problem. Anticipated problems are based on few assumptions, while immediate problems are one which can have well defined cause and effect relationship. Absolutely, if something can be defined without assumptions and which has definite severe negative impact is to be considered as immediate problems.

Known problems can help you delineate the solution in more accurately and immediately. By providing and implementing definite solution to immediate concerns, Government can lay a strong foundation for future. Such foundation can help resisting many anticipated problem. For example, Growth of the nation is anticipated problem, while jobs are immediate concern. If government focuses on bringing down unemployment rate, progress of country should be taken care in long run.

In case government chooses to neglect immediate problems and concentrate on anticipated problems, they are not only risking the future of government. They are also preparing a recipe for anarchy. For example, rather than focusing on immediate issue of clashes between shita and sunnis, Iraq government decided to ignore and did focus on economy and growth. Which has resulted into rise of ISIS-terrorism threat.

Therefore, I would strongly suggest Government around the world to focus on immediate problems such as terrorism, growth, employment, spreading information and availing natural resources to everyone around the would rather than anticipated problem such as asteroid collision, fear of aliens.