Governments should invest as much in the arts as they do in the military.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

The statement here says that the government should pay equal heed to art as to military financially. I completely agree with this statement and believe that the area of art is as important to the nation as the military because both represent a complete picture of the nation's well-being in all spheres, and hence deserves equal financial investment.

The foremost idea of supporting the area of art will give rise to employment to a large scale. Art is a very vague term and it broadly includes painting, dancing, singing, pottery and the list can go on. Looking at these few artworks itself gives an idea about how many people can benefit from investment by the government. It will enhance the employment of the citizen and promote people to take these professions more seriously. Take the example of the comparison in this particular statement, between the military and the art. How many people are part these defense forces? Are they all in the profession by choice? Many a times, due to lack of opportunities, aspiring artists give up on their dream and take up other professions to earn money. Intervention by the government will help these kind of people, encouraging them to pursue a career in arts without any fear of unemployment. These doesn't necessarily harm the strength of the military.

A direct consequence of above point is improved economy and improved peripheral employment in the country. Not only art can create opportunities for people to make a successful career in these fields, it will enhance other factors such as foreign investment, tourism, employing people to manage the artworks, staff to support the artist and so on. Take the example of the great Indian artist M.F. Hussain. Due to his exemplary work in the field of painting, it attracted artists and people from all over the world to visit his exhibition, buy his work and make collaborations: all contributing to the incoming foreign investment to countries economy. If one person can do so much, there consequences of more people being in such a field can only be imagined.

Another indirect consequence of equal investment in art, and the point that makes it different compared to the investment in military, is that the government will have returns on this. Agreed that the military protects the nation form the enemies at the border, but investment in art will make people earn more, expand their work abroad, employ more people for the support work and hence, improving the overall capital income of the country. Not only will it create jobs, it will add to the overall index of satisfaction of the citizens. A successful Tabla player, or a band of singers, dancers will encourage more people to take this up as a career to enjoy their life as they want to.

A contrary point can be that art is not as important as military and hence the government should solely focus in its improvement. But doesn't this mean concentrating only on cultivating only section of the society and ignoring the rest? Furthermore it can be pointed out that the country should make the nation stronger at its border and only then the country can be stronger inside. But such a thing will prove detrimental in the long run. It will create unsatisfied citizens and people will resort to other trickery to achieve success.

In the end, the investment in art is as important as the military because it is beneficial to the economy and aid to the the progress of the citizens in all spheres of life.