Governments should offer a free university education to any student who has been admitted to a university but who cannot afford the tuition.

Today, education is as much of a service as it is a business. Even though teachers are paid handsomely for their efforts, such economic halcyon is still indiscernable amongst the people who apply to study at such universities.

Ideally, economic background shouldn't limit access to education. There are numerous examples of people who every year go to MIT and Caltech, improving intellectually, and going on to solve big problems in the world. A significant fraction of such population finds it difficult to pay the skyrocketing tuition fees at such universities of global acclaim, but, owing to financial help, are able to make it through the economic burden.

Being denied the right to education at a good university on the grounds of insufficient funds is indirectly, a violation of the notion that everyone should be able to get good education. A lot of students also end up opting for educational loans, and then have to return a higher sum of money afterwards. Such an economic burden forces the student to live a frugal life, and inadvertently affects his performance at academics.

It is also worthwhile to note that getting an admission into a good university is more herculean than being able to pay the tuition. A student who has made it to a college of their choice does, in certainty, deserve that education.

On the contrary, an academic policy of financial help towards those who are economically not well off may also lead to misuse. Situations like these exist in India, where most colleges offer financial help directly to students of backward castes. However, a lot of general caste people end up getting an admit and then faking their caste status to get tuition waved off. Situations like these are criticised country wide for the grounds of morality. Another argument one can make is that the taxpayer's money, when instead of being used in research is used in such charity calls for anger since the taxpayer never opted for such charity.

All in all, financial help should be provided by the state to students unable to pay their tuition, as such actions help the society as a whole, further championing the stand that anyone who want to develop intellectually should not be discouraged by monetary considerations.