Governments should offer a free university education to any student who has been admitted to a university but who cannot afford the tuition.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

It is debatable whether governments are responsible to suggest a free college education to every students who has been accepted to a university, but who fail to afford the tuition. It would be ideal for governments to cover all of the expenses if there is unending source of money, however, due to limited resources, it is not the most practical, or feasible idea both on macro and micro level. Instead, governments should come up with alternatives to compensate for their shortage in financial support.

To begin with, the suggestion is not the best solution at a macro level. Government budget is limited, so it is urgent and indispensable to spend it effectively for the betterment of the entire society. Monetary aid from the government to a student is only possible owing to collecting tax from citizens. Thus, in order to spare more money on supporting students, government will either reduce budget of other sector or increase tax. First option is unfair for other people who need the same care and support especially in immigrants, health insurance, and unemployment issues. Second option, which is to increase tax, not only impose heavier burden to every citizens, but also to those students who are receiving funds. Therefore, looking at the problem at a macro level, the given suggestion is not optimal.

Moreover, the recommendation might not be the most helpful solution at a micro level as well. There is a lot of purposes in matriculation such as higher education, better job placement, and unique experiences. Thereby, if the goal is to get a better job or have new experiences, university is no the only means to achieve the goals. Instead, governments could install a career development program that help those students with job placements. Additionally, governments could also promote private funding organazations more actively who can help improverished students to achieve their goals in education.

Admittedly, not being able to attend a university because of financial deficiency is unfair. However, instead of taking a risk and pouring money only on this sector, thus creating an imbalance and another unfairness in budget strategy, government should take alternatives to support them. Offering work study, loans with little to no interest, and scholarships to the especially bright ones can be a few subsitutions. The governments should try to make their societies a better place for them to flourish and have equal chances as much as possible.

All in all, because of aforementioned reasons, I disagree with the given statement. Governments are integral and one of the influential department of a society; still, every members of a society should take responsibilities and endeavor to make their societies a better place for every individual in a society, and avoid creating victims of unfairness.