Governments should place few, if any, restrictions on scientific research and development.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Every advanced society knows that scientific research and discoveries usually create a better lifestyle for a society. Scientific research requires well prepared, studied, informed citizens, and these citizens are most likely to make good decisions about their life and their nation, and have better jobs with better payment. Governments should not only have few restrictions on scientific research, but to support it in a better way, spend more money on it and dedicate more time to improve every aspect of it.

Science is the study of everything, and a lot of its branches have a varied number of normal life applications, even the most advanced ones, come to normal use when time passes by. Engineering have led to better technology and tools for our daily activities, such as oil saving vehicles or faster computers, advances in medicine have led to a fight back and control diseases that just a few decades ago were deadly, advances in genetics have allowed us to improve food that is not present in nature in the way we eat it, etc.

Governments and misinformed society members sometimes underrate the advantages that science research brings to our daily life. In example, people sometimes states that we do not need to explore space and research in astrophysics, but if we did not do that, we would not comprehend some phenomena that is present in other planets and in ours, or use these technological advances in our life, such as solar panels and the internet. NASA’s budget is far less than 1% of the U.S. annual budget, and it still makes great advances and discoveries that have good use; imagine what NASA could do if the government spend 1 or 2% of its budget in science? How far could we have come by now?

Even when in some special cases, science research is used for bad purposes, such as weapons creation and disease modifications, the science on its own it is not bad nor good, it is amoral, it becomes a problem whenever we put to bad use that knowledge, instead of trying to improve everyone’s life. And some research ought to be controlled and regulated, but not all of it, and not in a way that would force scientists to abandon good projects.

In any case, science research and development have way more positive contributions to our societies, than it has wrongdoings. Applying a clear control of it but letting it grow, we can expect not only more and better informed citizens, but in consequence, a better lifestyle and a better society to live in.