GRE Issue: Colleges and universities should require their students to spend at least one semester studying in a foreign country.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Pursuing education in a foreign country for at least one semester during the course of studying at college or universities must be made mandatory. This issue is quite contentious as there are pros as well as cons on both the sides. Studying in foreign universities will not only increase your networking, language skills and employ ability options post the completion of the course but also set oneself apart from the many graduates pursuing the same subject. But, it can be considered that foreign education can become very expensive as the cost of travelling and living increase considerably day by day.

In today's day and age, networking has become paramount to success, a bigger network professionally will signify an increase in the number of opportunities after the completion of the degree. In many companies, new employees are selected based on the recommendation and referrals by the existing employees. Thus it is suggested that a semester in a foreign country will increase not just the professional network but also ones personal network, thereby increasing the options to apply for jobs once the degree is completed.

Secondly, the world that we live in is diverse in culture as well as languages. Moving to another country for education, spending time with the students of the foreign university and interacting with the citizens of that country will enhance our respect and understanding of their culture. Thus not only does foreign education boost our skill set in the professional aspect but also in the social aspect. Also, while in the foreign country the student could learn the language spoken there, as employers of various multinational companies (MNC's) are keen on employing people that can communicate in multiple languages.

Thirdly, as discussed in the points above foreign education will help increase the students chances of getting employed. There may be a phenomenal number of students in many universities around the country that a pursuing the same major, now after the completion of the degree, it is necessary to set oneself apart from the rest of the students to get that job and the semester spent at the foreign institution will help the employer take the decision to select the student easily.

However, one needs to understand that foreign education is very expensive to pursue, as there are travelling, living and tuition costs involved. Unless one receives a scholarship from the institution, it becomes difficult to spend that considerably amount of money.

Considering all the above factors that support the idea of foreign education, it can be seen that the advantages far outweigh the disadvantages and that a semester of education in a foreign country will significantly improve the students in their professional careers and therefore should be made mandatory by the colleges and universities.