The greatness of individuals can be decided only by those who live after them, not by their contemporaries.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Essay topics in audio

Although there had been some odd cases whereby greatness of an individual got recognized after they had passed on, however, in reality, individual’s achievements are celebrated by their contemporaries. Once it is seen and understood, people are left with no choice than to celebrate it.

Society has been designed in such a way that hard work or achievements are rewarded because by so doing, these individuals feels appreciated and consequently get motivated to work harder. Depending on what area of greatness being considered, different societies had always been a mapped-out plan on how to celebrate an outstanding individual while still alive. In the scholarly world, we have Nobel awards. In the music world, we have myraids of rewards such as African music video awards, American video awards, mtv based video awards. In the theatre world, many awards abide too. In fact, the list goes on and on.

A typical example of such a man that got celebrated while still living was Micheal Jackson. Popularly called the king of pop, he was widely and madly celebrated for being the originator of pop music to the extent that many of his fan faint in course in some of his shows because of congestion. Another perfect example was Nelson mandela. After being detained in prison for 27 years because of his fight for equality in south Africa, he was celebrated till his death. Even after his death, he is still being celebrated.

Notwithstanding, there still exist cases in which due to religious sentiments or obscurity of the achievements, the individual’s greatness is not celebrated while alive. A striking example is Galileo, because his findings of the earth revolving around the sun belied what the religious people of his time stood for, these religious bigots rather than celebrate him locked him up in prison. After he passed on, the truth was discovered. Also, Alfred Wegener, the meteorologist and polar researcher who discovered continental shift, never got any form of accolade because people of his time had no inkling about his discovery.

In sum, the achievements of people are always celebrated once they are discovered because humans understand that attaining to such a great height irrespective of the area considered is never easy and thus require some measure of appreciation.