Hospital statistics regarding people who go to the emergency room after roller-skating accidents indicate the need for more protective equipment. Within that group of people, 75 percent of those who had accidents in streets or parking lots had not been wearing any protective clothing (helmets, knee pads, etc.) or any light-reflecting material (clip-on lights, glow-in-the-dark wrist pads, etc.). Clearly, the statistics indicate that by investing in high-quality protective gear and reflective equipment, roller skaters will greatly reduce their risk of being severely injured in an accident

The author claims that by investing in the high-quality protective gear and reflective equipment, roller skaters will greatly reduce their risk of being severly injured in an accident. At first this statement seems plausible but after the meticulous analysis it becomes evident that it contains many flaws and in order to prove this statement true he have to cite the following evidences to make the argument more sound such as :

Firstly, the stastical record of hospitals regarding people who go to the emergency room after roller-skating accidents indicate the need for more protective equipment, at first it seems plausible but after the careful analysis it shows otherwise. As there are records of emergency going cases only but there are no records of cases which come due to the other type of injuries such as accidents or other injuries which takes place due to the negligence of the roller-skaters. Also there are other possibilities such as the stastiscal data, it is not mentioned on how many people it is taken. What if the population considered is too small? So, exact figures are required.

Secondly, 75% people were not wearing any protective equipment in the parking lots or in streets , but what if the raods were in poor condition there? what if the environment conditions were bad at that time? for instance it is hard to roll in rainy conditions as a result there will be accidents even with the proper protective equipment. So conditions of roads, weather conditions also play a greater part in the accidents. Also the population from which this 75% is taken is not mentioned, if the whole population is taken or not. What if it taken from small group of people and the whole population is not taken?

Last but not least author only culpates the faulty equipment for the accidents but ddidn't mentioned about the technical skills each person have, there is obvious possibility that less skilled the person is, more will be chances of accidents. Also there is no mentioning of the age groups. Younger and Older group people are more prone to the accidents than the adults. As a result there will be more injuries to kids or the older people.

So at the end i would like to say that the argument consists of myriad of fallacious statements and in order to validate this argument author has to answer a number of questions stated above. A reliable source is required from which the data shoul be collected.