The human mind will always be superior to machines because machines are only tools of human minds.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Some people hold the view that human intellect will always be superior to machines as machines are created by humans, while other people are worried about the threat machines pose to human beings because of the improvement of machine intelligence. From my point of view, I fully agree with the former opinion, as machines are created and also can be controlled by humans.

Admittedly, machines are getting more intelligent in past several decades, especially after the new theory of machine learning is introduced. For example, Deep Mind, a subsidiary of Google, invented a deep learning system called Alpha Go, which has the ability to learn how to play the game of go through delving the existing go games. After practicing for several months in, Alpha Go defeated the world’s most famous go player in a five-round go contest this year, and people were shocked by the “thinking” ability of the system which is deployed in a computer. Thus, many people think that machines may dominate the world over humans someday.

However, while it is true that machines like computers are evolving into more intelligent ones, people shall not forget that the softwares and hardwares of these machines are developed by humans. As humans have the ability to create these machines, they can also destroy machines. For example, to limit the evolution of machines, engineers can set some software switches in advance and trigger them in case machines evolve too fast and have the possibility to surpass human intellect. Thus, humans can not only reap the benefits of machines but also control the evolution of machines.

In addition, In order to control the machine intelligence, except the software switches, more detailed restrictions should be enacted to articulate the boundary of developing machines. If there’re no specific laws regulating the advancement of machines, tech genius may create a machine monster which is superior to humans. If this is the case, such a monster is beyond human control and may conduct undesired behaviours to disrupt human civilisation. On the contrary, With the precise definitions of how to develop machines, tech companies can follow these definitions to create machines and prevent them from evolving into creatures which exceed human beings in intelligence.

In sum, as long as humans impose specific regulations on the advancement of machines and follow such regulations strictly, the threat machines will pose to humans can be properly controlled and human mind will always be superior to machines.